[ntp:questions] Spurious positive leap second announcement?

Steve Kostecke kostecke at ntp.isc.org
Wed Mar 7 03:26:34 UTC 2007


On 2007-03-06, Brian Garrett <mgy1912 at cox.net> wrote:

> "David J Taylor" wrote:
>
>> Noted this in my even log:
>>
>> Detected positive leap second announcement for 2007-04-01 00:00:00 UTC
>
> 2007-04-01?  Sounds like someone's idea of an April Fools' joke.

That server was probably still using the old zonefile. Here's what an
old zonefile shows for 2007:

localhost:/usr/share/zoneinfo$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v EST5EDT.orig | grep 2007
Sun Apr  1 06:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0
Sun Apr  1 07:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1
Sun Oct 28 05:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1
Sun Oct 28 06:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0

Here's the updated version of that zonefile:

localhost:/usr/share/zoneinfo$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v EST5EDT | grep 2007
Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0
Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1
Sun Nov  4 05:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1
Sun Nov  4 06:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0

-- 
Steve Kostecke <kostecke at ntp.isc.org>
NTP Public Services Project - http://ntp.isc.org/




More information about the questions mailing list