[ntp:questions] Spurious positive leap second announcement?

Per Hedeland per at hedeland.org
Wed Mar 7 07:11:49 UTC 2007


In article <slrneusc7a.anb.kostecke at stasis.kostecke.net> Steve Kostecke
<kostecke at ntp.isc.org> writes:
>On 2007-03-06, Brian Garrett <mgy1912 at cox.net> wrote:
>
>> "David J Taylor" wrote:
>>
>>> Noted this in my even log:
>>>
>>> Detected positive leap second announcement for 2007-04-01 00:00:00 UTC
>>
>> 2007-04-01?  Sounds like someone's idea of an April Fools' joke.
>
>That server was probably still using the old zonefile. Here's what an
>old zonefile shows for 2007:
>
>localhost:/usr/share/zoneinfo$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v EST5EDT.orig | grep 2007
>Sun Apr  1 06:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0
>Sun Apr  1 07:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1
>Sun Oct 28 05:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1
>Sun Oct 28 06:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0

Uh, asleep at the wheel?:-)

--Per Hedeland
per at hedeland.org




More information about the questions mailing list