[ntp:questions] Spurious positive leap second announcement?

David J Taylor david-taylor at blueyonder.co.not-this-bit.nor-this-part.uk
Wed Mar 7 07:32:57 UTC 2007


Steve Kostecke wrote:
> On 2007-03-06, Brian Garrett <mgy1912 at cox.net> wrote:
>
>> "David J Taylor" wrote:
>>
>>> Noted this in my even log:
>>>
>>> Detected positive leap second announcement for 2007-04-01 00:00:00
>>> UTC
>>
>> 2007-04-01?  Sounds like someone's idea of an April Fools' joke.
>
> That server was probably still using the old zonefile. Here's what an
> old zonefile shows for 2007:
>
> localhost:/usr/share/zoneinfo$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v EST5EDT.orig | grep
> 2007 Sun Apr  1 06:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 EST
> isdst=0
> Sun Apr  1 07:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1
> Sun Oct 28 05:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1
> Sun Oct 28 06:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0
>
> Here's the updated version of that zonefile:
>
> localhost:/usr/share/zoneinfo$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v EST5EDT | grep 2007
> Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0
> Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1
> Sun Nov  4 05:59:59 2007 GMT = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1
> Sun Nov  4 06:00:00 2007 GMT = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0

Thanks, Steve, but to the best of my knowledge there is no zone file on 
the client PC (running Windows).  If it's the server problem, then it's 
outside my control.

In any case, why would a time zone file create a leap-second annoucement? 
I thought that they were two different things.

How can I tell if this PC will try to insert a leap second or not?

Thanks,
David 





More information about the questions mailing list